Peer Advisor Program

Peer Advisors

Feel free to contact any of the students listed below to learn more about Valpo's study abroad programs.  

The Office of International Programs selects Peer Advisors to act as student representatives of the office, sharing their experience and knowledge of study abroad to encourage others to enroll.  Peer Advisors meet with interested students and act as guides throughout the study abroad preparation and re-entry process.

NAME, MAJOR, CONTACT

PROGRAM

Bryn Cooley

History & English

bryn.cooley@valpo.edu

Cambridge, England (Study Center + Anglia Ruskin University)

Emelie Lovasko

Nursing

emelie.lovasko@valpo.edu

Cambridge, England

Briana Scheffer 

Digital Media

Briana.Scheffer@valpo.edu

Cambridge, England

Kathryn Rumptz

International Business &
Marketing

Kathryn.Rumptz@valpo.edu

Cambridge, England

Amy Myrda

Nursing

amy.myrda@valpo.edu

Reutlingen, Germany

Sarah Slothower

Sociology

sarah.slothower@valpo.edu

Reutlingen, Germany

Kaitlin Werth

Electrical Engineering

kaitlin.werth@valpo.edu

Reutlingen, Germany

Megan Dean

Management

megan.dean@valpo.edu

San José, Costa Rica

Malachia Jones-Bone

Sociology/Criminology & Spanish minor

Malachia.Jones-Bone@valpo.edu

San José, Costa Rica

Margaret Lippert

IECA

Margaret.Lippert@valpo.edu

Hangzhou, China

Angela Silski

Chemistry & Spanish

angela.silski@valpo.edu

Zaragoza, Spain

Tyler Clark

Spanish

tyler.clark@valpo.edu

Zaragoza, Spain

Tyler also serves as a representative of the U.S. State Department's Gilman International Scholarship. He will be giving presentations on campus about how to apply!

Bethany Wiersma

English & Spanish

Bethany.Wiersma@valpo.edu

Granada, Spain

Nandin-Erdene Munkhbat

Economics

nandin-erdene.munkhbat@valpo.edu

Paris, France (Boston University Internship Program)

Molly Hetzner

Political Science

molly.hetzner@valpo.edu

Windhoek, Namibia (& South Africa)

Desiree Swartz

Nursing

desiree.swartz@valpo.edu

Windhoek, Namibia (& South Africa)

Melissa Rink

Psychology

melissa.rink@valpo.edu

Windhoek, Namibia (& South Africa)

Amber Jackson

IECA & Chinese/Japanese Studies

amber.jackson@valpo.edu

Hirakata, Japan

Hannah Heagy

German

hannah.heagy@valpo.edu

Tübingen, Germany

Hannah also serves as a representative of the DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) scholarship to study abroad. She will be giving presentations on campus about how to apply!


Anna Scudiero

Anna.Scudiero@valpo.edu

Washington D.C.

Maura Jonas

Maura.Jonas@valpo.edu

Washington D.C.

 

If you are interested in becoming a Peer Advisor, please contact Julie Maddox at julie.maddox@valpo.edu.

Tasks:

  • Assist the OIP with events and activities throughout the year (such as study abroad fairs, classroom presentations, pre-departure orientations, information sessions etc.). 
  • Actively schedule and present country or program specific information sessions to interested campus groups (1 or 2 per term).
  • Email and meet with students in order to advise them on studying abroad, program options, and procedures.
  • Share your enthusiasm for studying abroad with other Valpo students.
  • Have fun!

Responsibilities:

  •  Willingness to commit to the OIP and contribute to teamwork for the 2014-2015 academic year. Last year’s Peer Advisors spent an average of 1 or 2    hrs/week throughout the year on promotion and meetings, but some weeks do not require any commitments.  The weeks of campus outreach events (ie, study abroad fair) may require a bit more of your time.  Don’t worry, it will be fun, and studies come first.
  •  Provide experience, insight, information, and assistance to peers about the study abroad process
  •  Be the contact person for initial study abroad questions
  •  Guide students through the Valpo study abroad website
  •  Represent the OIP responsibly, accurately, and professionally
  •  Commitment to effectively communicate the policies and procedures of Valpo Study Abroad and work to forward the goals and mission of the OIP
  •  Other duties as assigned or suggested by you

Benefits: 

  • Enhance public speaking and intercultural communication skills
  • Be afforded the opportunity to share your international experiences with your peers and inspire others to broaden their horizons
  • Professional development via the Chicago Lessons From Abroad Returnee Conference
  • Advising and leadership experience
  • Obtain hands-on training and experience in the field of International Education
  • Addition of concrete experience and skills to resume
  • Expand planning and problem-solving skills
  • Build relationshipos with an office staff while heightenign your awareness of how a professional office functions