Biology Colloquium

Fall Semester 2013


Sessions designated as interdisciplinary are part of the series "Neils Colloquia on Innovative Science," or NCIS.   Numerous times each semester, a speaker at the forefront of science will speak to a joint physics, biology, and chemistry audience. 

 

All sesssions are now CORE APPROVED!


Get directions and view a campus map

 

Click here for a pdf version of the colloquium schedulepdf

 

 

Friday, August 30 

Orientation

 

Friday, September 6

All Neils Picnic (Kirchhoff Park)

 

Friday, September 13 (Interdisciplinary Colloquium)

"NCIS Summer Research Symposium"

Location: VUCA LOBBY

 

Friday, September 20

“Old and Cold: Exploring the Biology of Greenland Sharks”

Dr. Peter Bushnell

Department of Biology

Indiana University South Bend

 

Friday, September 27

“Homecoming Premedical Arts Colloquium”

Dr. Donald Lewis, MD,

Maxillofacial Surgeon

 

Friday, October 4

Speaker TBA

 

Friday, October 18 (Interdisciplinary Colloquium)

“Organic Matter in the Universe”

Dr. Sun Kwok
Department of Biology

University of Hong Kong

 

Friday, October 25

“Evolving Roles of FOG-2 in Coronary Vessel Development and Arrhythmogenesis”

Dr. Harold Olivey

Departments of Biology

Indiana University, Northwest

 

Friday, November 1 (Interdisciplinary Colloquium)

“Subcellular Surgery and Nanosurgery”

Dr. Eric Mazur

Department of Physics

Harvard University

 

Friday, November 8

Valparaiso Student Research

 

Friday, November 15

“TBA”

Dr. Beth Archie

Biology Department

University of Notre Dame

 

Friday, December 6

Valparaiso University Biology Student Research

 

__________________________________________________