Search for Pastoral Staff Addition
The ministry of the chapel will soon be enhanced by the addition of a third member to the pastoral staff.  A pastoral search committee, appointed by President Alan F. Harre and chaired by Pastor Joseph Cunningham, is currently narrowing down a list of candidates for phone interviews.  Once those interviews are concluded the committee will identify three candidates who then will be invited to visit the campus to meet students, faculty and staff.  The search committee will then make its recommendation to President Harre for final approval.

The long range vision of the chapel’s ministry recommended an additional staff member representing the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), to the staff of the chapel.  It was later determined that an ordained woman would best serve ministry needs.  Potential donors were invited to consider this proposal.  With the encouragement of President Harre and the staff of the Office of Institutional Advancement, an endowment has been established to fund this new position.

Our new pastor will be in place well before the 2008-09 academic year. She will be primarily responsible for Residential Ministry and share in the many other facets of chapel ministry including our worship life.  

Members of the Search Committee are: Pastor J.R. Cunningham, dean of the Chapel of the Resurrection; Dr. Dorothy Bass, director of the Valparaiso Project on the Education and Formation of People in Faith; Dr. Fred Niedner, professor of theology; Nicole Koehler, student; Matt McCuen, student; Beth Olejniczak, director of the Virtual Nursing Learning Center; Dr. John Stephen Paul, director of the Lilly Fellows Program and professor of theater; and Lisa Polito, director of the Lutheran Deaconess Association. Ex officio members are: Dr. Lorraine Brugh, director of Chapel Music, and Associate University Pastor James Wetzstein.