As a joint endeavour between VU and ZJUT, the CIVU has its members of the Board of Directors composed of delegates from both sides.

From the VU side: Professor Mark Schwehn (Vice President of VU), Professor David Rowland (Associate Provost, Dean of the Graduate School and the College of Continuing Education), Professor Zhimin Lin (Director of the Chinese Japanese Studies Program), and Professor Jianyun Meng (Director of the CIVU).

From the ZJUT side: Professor Xiao Ruifeng (Vice President of ZJUT), Professor Zheng Huajun (Director of the Department of International Exchange and Cooperation), and Professor Sun Liping (Director of the School of Humanities).