Dr. Edward H. Heinze, chair of the economics department, served from 1978-1991.  On July 12, 1991, he was tragically killed in an automobile accident.  The Valparaiso University community was deeply shocked and saddened by this tragic loss of their beloved colleague and decided to establish a memorial scholarship fund in honor of his contributions to economics students and the university. 

The Dr. Edward H. Heinze student scholarship is awarded annually to the most deserving junior economics major based on (1) financial need and (2) highest GPA in economics.   The candidate will be chosen by the financial aid director in consultation with the economics department chair.


Heinze Scholarship Winners 

  • 1995-1996 Jason Woodruff
  • 1996-1997 Eric Sygnatur
  • 1997-1998 Sarah Malone
  • 1998-1999 Lauren Miller  Sarah Burow 
  • 1999-2000 Karl Kindler Andrew Swiston
  • 2000-2001 Mark Santos
  • 2001-2002 Matthew Landmeier
  • 2002-2003 Elyssa Swango
  • 2003-2004 Katherine Gappa, Dana Reid, Andrew Remenschneider
  • 2005-2006 Robert Schmidt
  • 2006-2007 Liberty Zieghan
  • 2007-2008 Kate Pawlus