Omicron Delta Epsilon is an international academic honor society that was created through the merger of two honor societies, Omicron Delta Gamma and Omicron Chi Epsilon Omicron Delta Epsilon

Omicron Delta Gamma (The Order of Artus) was founded in 1915 by John R. Commons, University of Wisconsin and Frank Taussig, Harvard University.

Omicron Chi Epsilon was founded in 1955 by Alan A. Brown while he was a student at the City College of New York.

Omicron Delta Epsilon has over 578 chapters located in the United States, Canada, Australia, the United Kingdom, Mexico, Puerto Rico, South Africa, Egypt, and France.

The minimum requirements for admission for undergraduates are:

·         completion of 12 semester hours of economics courses; and

·         attainment of at least a “B” average in economics courses and an overall “B” average in all classes, and a class standing in the upper one-third.

·         Students do not have to be economics majors but must have a genuine interest in economics in addition to meeting the above requirements.