Department of History

Valpo History majors know that the analytical thinking skills and contextual understanding they develop through their studies will allow them to succeed in any field. These students analyze both the great and forgotten events of world history and explore topics as diverse as witchcraft and China's Cultural Revolution.

Why History?
Faculty Focus and Research
Boyd Memorial Lecture

The nature of training in History may help you to do better in any and every field. It has specific relevance to work as a historical writer/researcher in government and business; as a museum curator or archivist; as a teacher or professor; as a government official or worker at local, regional, state, national, or international level (in archives, embassies, consulates, or information offices). Many graduates today choose law schools or international studies to pursue their history-based careers.

Our faculty is balanced among areas of specialization in US, European, African, Asian, and Latin American history. We strive for excellence in teaching and research. We place high value upon our personal connections with students.


The Willis Boyd History Lectureship was established by friends and family in honor of Professor Willis Boyd. The next lecture in this series is scheduled for the evening of February 20th, 2014.  It will feature award-winning historian Darren Dochuk of Washington University in St. Louis's John C. Danforth Center on Religion and Politics.  Dochuk will speak about his latest research, which looks at the relationship between American evangelicals and big oil in the 20th-century United States.  Be sure to mark your calendars for this exciting presentation.


Contact Information

Department of History
College of Arts & Sciences, 371
1400 Chapel Drive, Valparaiso, IN 46383
219-464-6997 office
219-464-5511 Fax

Join our Facebook Support the Alan Bloom Legacy Fund Today!