United States Holidays

As a nation, the United States celebrates a number of official holidays. The following holidays are “Federal Holidays” on which many places of business-- such as banks and stores— are closed, including university offices.

July 4                  Independence Day (Classes are still in session)

September 5        Labor Day

October 10          Columbus Day

November 11       Veterans’ Day

November 24       Thanksgiving Day

December 25       Christmas Day

January 1             New Year’s Day

January 16           Martin Luther King Jr. Day

February 20         Presidents’ Day

May 28 Memorial Day

Daylight Savings Time

Most places in the United States observe “Daylight Savings Time”. In the spring, all clocks are moved forward one hour, and in the fall they are moved back again. The historical purpose of this practice was to give more daylight time to agriculture workers in the summer. Nowadays, Americans find that they just enjoy more daylight hours for summer recreational activities!

November 6, 2011: Move your clocks forward one hour.

March 11, 2012: Move your clocks back one hour.

Each year Daylight Savings Time starts on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.