Monday, Dec. 1, 2013
IT will be making a change this week to the read receipt function of Gmail@Valpo services. This change will be noticed most by those individuals who use read receipts regularly, though all users will be affected. It will allow message recipients to have more control regarding when their read receipt is sent to the requester.
Currently, a sender can request a read receipt, and when the recipient opens the email, the read receipt is automatically sent and indicated at the bottom of the sender’s message. The recipient does not know the receipt is being sent, and does not have the option to opt out.
The change we make will alter this process. When a recipient opens a message, they will now be given an option to send the read receipt immediately, or postpone until later. This means that the original sender of a message may not be notified when someone reads an email they have sent.
Read receipt functions are not available on messages sent to mailing lists (such as the class mailing lists) or to Google Groups.
For more detailed information about read receipts, see this Google webpage: https://support.google.com/mail/answer/1385059?rd=1