Student Bar Association

All students are members of the Student Bar Association and through it contribute to the educational and recreational programs of the School of Law. Students are able to serve on faculty committees by appointment of the SBA Board.  Among the faculty committees with SBA representation are: Admissions, Petitions and Readmissions, Curriculum, Placement, and Library Committees. Student representatives of the SBA also attend faculty meetings.

SBA committees are responsible for many activities at Valparaiso, and SBA members help in planning the orientation program for new students and graduation activities.  In addition, for the annual Law Week in February, the SBA plans events which include the Honors Luncheon, a Faculty Roast, and the Barrister’s Ball. Student representatives have also played a vital role in the Martin Luther King observance, the Pro Bono program, and the Academic Success Program.