Howard K. Hughes Memorial Prize

Howard K. Hughes was an Iowa native who earned the A. B. and M. S. degrees in mathematics from the University of Iowa; spent a short time at the University of Kansas, and then received his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan in 1930. He began a long and distinguished teaching career at Purdue University in 1928, over the course of which he authored a trigonometry text, published a number of papers, and guided eight students to the Ph.D. in mathematics. Upon his retirement from Purdue in 1968, Dr. Hughes came to Valparaiso University, where he enjoyed three very happy years with us.

Dr. Hughes always remembered with pride his participation in a mathematics competition at the University of Iowa that resulted in the awarding of the Louden Prize. And so... Dr. Hughes resolved to contribute sufficient funds to Valparaiso so that recognition might be given for achievement in mathematics at Valparaiso University.

To make possible the participation of science and engineering students, as well as mathematics students, Dr. Hughes declared that the purpose of the competition would be to determine the student showing the greatest proficiency in the first four calculus courses.

It is with much pride, and the warm memory of a gentle colleague, that we are privileged to award the Hughes Mathematics Prize.

Tim Goodrich & Professor Ken Luther

Howard K. Hughes Recipients

2012        Timothy Goodrich
2010        Benjamin Macy
2009        Spencer Roach, William Sheline
2008        Adam Shull
2007        Jared Erickson
2005,06   (not awarded)
2004        Nathaniel Leonard, Alicia Zinnecker
2003        Steven Klee
2002        Briana Ehrhardt
2001        Tamara Cundiff, Lara Pudwell
2000        Kathy Cooksey
1999        (not awarded)
1998        Mark Kerins
1997        Genevieve Knight
1995, 96  (not awarded)
1994       (not awarded)
1993        Jonathan DeVilbiss
1992        Eric Lofstad
1990, 91  (not awarded)
1989        Doug Limmer
1988        Hope Concannon
1987        Michael Campbell
1986        Jonathan Jank, Julie Stafford
1985        Kristi Keller, Russell Wenzel
1984        Kathy Dempsey
1984        Kathy Dempsey
1983        Jonathan Sorenson
1982        Michael Domroese
1981        Norman Kolb, Paul Sarraffe
1980        Karen Toth, James Handrock
1979        Mark Littman, David Halter
1978        Robert Sepanski
1977        Kevin Boettcher
1976        (not awarded)
1975        John Dixon
1974        Leslie Poch
1973        Dean Kolba