Meet the Director - Reutlingen, Germany

professor malchow

Valparaiso University's administered study abroad programs have resident directors who manage the programs on a day-to-day basis, teach two courses for the students and coordinate group excursions and cultural activities.  Since 1968, VU has sent 20 different faculty members, and their families, to the Reutlingen, Germany program for two, and in some cases, three year appointments.

Dr. Timothy Malchow, Associate Professor of Foreign Languages and Literatures, has taught German at Valparaiso University since 2003.  He was selected by the International Affairs Committee and appointed by President Mark Heckler to serve as Resident Director of the Reutlingen Study Center for two years, beginning July 2011.  He has a B.A. in German and English from Macalester College (1988), an M.A. in German from the University of Wisconsin-Madison (1992), and a Ph.D. in German from the University of Minnesota (2003).  His research focuses on memory and identity in German language literature since World War II.  He teaches German courses at all levels at VU. 

Dr. Malchow's family will accompany him.  His spouse, Dr. Lisa Jennings, will also teach in the program.  She has served as a visiting and adjunct faculty member at VU since 2003, teaching both Core seminars for first-year students and German courses at many levels.  During this time, she also served four years as the Director of the Lilly Project on the Theological Exploration of Vocation at VU.  She holds a B.A. in German from St. Olaf College (1989), an M.A. in German from the University of Wisconsin-Madison (1993), and a Ph.D. in German from the University of Minnesota (2004).  She and Dr. Malchow have two children, Nathaniel (6) and Jonathan (3), who are very excited about living in Germany and attending German schools.



Former Resident Directors of the Reutlingen, Germany Program:

 1968 (spring)
 Prof. Walter Bauer
 1968-69  Prof. Kenneth Korby
 1969-72  Prof. Ted Jungkuntz
 1972-74  Prof. James Albers
 1974-76  Prof. David Truemper
 1976-78  Prof. Ted Ludwig
 1978-80  Prof. Ferencz Kallay
 1980-82  Prof. MarcusRiedel  
 1982-84  Prof. Walter Reiner
 1984-88  Prof. Michael Kumpf
 1988-90  Prof. Fred Meyer
 1990-92  Prof. Nina Corazzo
 1992-95  Prof. John Helms
 1995-97  Prof. Sarah DeMaris
 1997-99  Prof. David Scupham
 1999-02  Prof. Kevin Geiman
 2002-04  Prof. Paul Trapp
 2004-07  Prof. Eric Johnson
 2007-09  Prof. Matthew Becker
 2009-11  Prof. Zsuzsanna Szaniszlo