College of Nursing and College of Health Professionals students attend clinicals

Academic Leadership

Leading Faculty in the College of Nursing and Health Professions

Our college faculty are university leaders, program directors, and assistant deans who are dedicated to student success. Learn more about our academic leadership below.

Health Administration

Kim Genovese, Program Director for Health Administration

Kim Genovese Ph.D., RN-BC, CNE Health Administration
Program Director
kim.genovese@valpo.edu 219.464.5063

Health Care Leadership and Health Science

Phrosini Samis-Smith, Program Director for Health Care Leadership & Health Science

Phrosini Samis-Smith, D.H.ED. Health Care Leadership and Health Science – Program Director phrosini.samissmith@valpo.edu 219.464.5289

Undergraduate Nursing

Lynette Layman, Assistant Dean for Undergraduate Nursing

Lynette Rayman, DNP, RN, CNE, CCRN Assistant Dean – Undergraduate Nursing lynette.rayman@valpo.edu 219.464.5289

Graduate Nursing

Christina Cavinder Profile pic

Christina Cavinder, DNP, Rn, CPNP-PC Assistant Dean – Graduate Nursing christina.cavinder@valpo.edu 219.464.5289

Occupational Therapy

Amanda Scott, Program Director for Occupational Therapy Program

Amanda Scott, OTD, OTR, BCG, CADDCT-CDP, CLT Occupational Therapy – Program Director amanda.scott@valpo.edu 219.464.5289

Physician Assistant

Joseph Zaweksi, Assistant Dean and Program Director for Physician Assistant Program

Joseph Zaweski, MPAS-PA-C Physician Assistant – Assistant Dean and Program Director joseph.zaweski@valpo.edu 219.464.5289

Public Health

Amy P. Buckenmeyer, Program Director for Public Health Program

Amy P. Buckenmeyer, Ph.D., MPH, RN, CPH Public Health – Program Director amy.buckenmeyer@valpo.edu 219.464.5289