Connecting regional educators since 2001.

PEP Mission Statement

The Professional Educators Partnership (PEP) seeks to establish mutually beneficial relationships between Valparaiso University and regional educators. The partnership has evolved into many new professional connections between administrators, professors, principals, teachers, and teacher candidates. Area schools benefit from access to Valpo’s resources, including targeted conferences and workshops. PEP also helps Valpo prepare its teacher candidates even more effectively.

In 2001, the education department established PEP with 25 schools. Today, dozens of elementary, middle, and high schools from across the region participate.

Participating Schools

PEP Chair, Elementary Level: Anne Wodetzki

Hayes Leonard Elementary
653 Hayes Leonard Road, Valparaiso, IN 46383
Valparaiso Community Schools
Bonnie Stephens, Principal
bstephens@valpo.k12.in.us
Traci Coil, teacher representative
tcoil@valpo.k12.in.us

Immanuel Lutheran School
1700 N. Monticello, Valparaiso, IN 46283
Josh Bachman, Principal
jbachman@immanuelvalpo.org
Samantha Jones, elementary teacher representative
sjones@immanuelvalpo.org
Tim Becker, middle school teacher representative
tbecker@immanuelvalpo.org

Jackson Elementary
811 N. 400 E., Valparaiso, IN 46383
Duneland School Corporation
Linda Rugg, Principal
linda.rugg@duneland.k12.in.us
Brian Norris, teacher representative
brian.norris@duneland.k12.in.us

Kouts Elementary
302 E. College Street, Kouts, IN 46347
East Porter County School Corporation
Patti Eich, Principal
patti.eich@eastporter.k12..in.us
Lia Roccia, teacher representative
lia.roccia@eastporter.k12.in.us

Morgan Twp Elementary
299 S. SR 49, Valparaiso, IN 46383
East Porter County Schools
Jessica Niebel, Principal
jessica.niebel@eastporter.k12.in.us
Mary Riffer, teacher representative
mary.riffer@eastporter.k12.in.us
Susan Rassel, teacher representative
Linda Phillips, teacher representative

Myers Elementary School
3100 Willowdale Portage, IN 46368
Portage Twp Schools
Jeff King, Principal
jeffrey.king@portage.k12.in.us
Cindy Hargarten, teacher representative
lucinda.hargarten@portage.k12.in.us

Northview Elementary
257 Northview, Valparaiso, IN 46383
Valparaiso Community Schools
Loren Hershberger, Principal
lhershberger@valpo.k12.in.us
Kelley Jones, teacher representative
kjones@valpo.k12.in.us

Parkview Elementary School
1405 Wood Street, Valparaiso, IN 46383
Valparaiso Community Schools
Anne Wodetzki, Principal
awodetzki@valpo.k12.in.us
Donna Battista, teacher representative
dbattista@valpo.k12.in.us

South Haven Elementary
4395 Midway Dr., Valparaiso, IN 46385
Portage Twp Schools
Phillip Misecko, Principal
Phillip.misecko@portage.k12.in.us
Sharon Kinsey, teacher representative
sharon.kinsey@portage.k12.in.us

St. Paul School (K–8)
Harrison Blvd, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Archdiocese of Gary
Jane Scupham, Principal
jscupham@stpaulvalpo.org
Alene Sullivan, teacher representative
asullivan@stpaulvalpo.org

John Wood Elementary
6100 E. 73rd Avenue, Merrillville, IN 46410
Merrillville Community Schools
Terri Crussen, Principal
tcrussen@mvsc.k12.in.us
Morgan Vlassopoulos
mvlassopou@mvsc.k12.in.us

PEP Chair, Middle Level: Jerry Lasky

Ben Franklin Middle School
605 N. Campbell, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Valparaiso Community Schools
Chris Fields, Principal
cfields@valpo.k12.in.us
Melissa Fisher, teacher representative
mfisher@valpo.k12.in.us

Boone Grove Middle School
325 W. 550 S., Boone Grove, IN 46302
Porter Twp. Schools
Bob Lichtenberger, Principal
blichtenberger@ptsc.k12.in.us
Mary Beth Brown, teacher representative
marybeth.brown@ptsc.k12.in.us

Hebron Midddle School
MSD Boone Twp Schools
307 S. Main, Hebron, IN 46341
Jeff Brooks, Principal
brooksj@hebronschools.k12.in.us
Kristy Stephens, teacher representative
stephensk@hebronsschools.k12.in.us

Kankakee Valley Middle School
3923 West St. Rd. 10, Wheatfield, IN 46392
Kankakee Valley Schools
Adam Metzger, Principal
ametzger@kv.k12.in.us
Christina Gulbrandson, teacher representative
cgulbrandson@kv.k12.in.us
Britney Smith, teacher representative
bsmith@kv.k12.in.us

Kouts Middle School
302 E. College Street, Box 699; Kouts, IN 46347
East Porter County School Corporation
Tom Stoner, Principal
tom.stoner@eastporter.k12.in.us
Kathy Press, teacher representative
kathy.press@eastporter.k12.in.us

Pierce Middle School
199 E. 70th Place, Merrillville, IN 46410
Merrillville Community School
Christine Kibler-Wheeler, Principal
cwheeler@mvsc.k12.in.us
Sharon Igras, Assistant Principal
sigras@mvsc.k12.in.us
TBA, teacher representative

Taft Middle School
1000 S. Main Street, Crown Point, IN 46307
Crown Point Community School Corp
Michael Hazen, Principal
mchazen@cps.k12.in.us
Andrew Shih, teacher representative
ashih@cps.k12.in.us

Thomas Jefferson Middle School
1600 Roosevelt Rd., Valparaiso, IN 46383
Valparaiso Community Schools
Elizabeth Krutz, Principal
ekrutz@valpo.k12.in.us
Denise Koebcke, teacher representative
dkoebcke@valpo.k12.in.us

Union Twp Middle School
599 W. 300 N., Valparaiso, IN 46385
Union Twp School Corporation
Jerry Lasky, Principal
jlasky@union.k12.in.us

Kerry Blaszkiewicz, teacher representative

kblaszkiewicz@union.k12.in.us

Washington Twp. Middle School
381 E. State Rd 2, Valparaiso, IN 46383
East Porter County School Corporation
Sue lipinski, Principal
sue.lipinski@eastporter.k12.in.us
Randy Feola, teacher representative
randy.feola@eastporter.k12.in.us

Willowcreek Middle School
5962 Central Ave., Portage, IN 46368
Portage Township Schools
Doug Johnson, Principal
djohnson@portage.k12.in.us
Natalie Frank, teacher representative
dfrank@portage.k12.in.us

PEP Chair, Secondary Level: Mark Lutze

Andrean High School
5959 Broadway, Merrillville, IN 46410
Diocese of Gary
Heather Lytton, Principal
hlytton@andreanhs.com
Phyllis Murzyn, teacher representative
pmurzyn@andreanhs.com

Boone Grove High School
260 S. 500 W., Valparaiso, IN 46383
Porter Township School Corporation
Clay Corman, Principal
clay.corman@ptsc.k12.in.us
Ed Ivanyo, Asst Principal
ed.ivanyo@ptsc.k12.in.us

Chesterton High School
2125 S. 11th Street, Chesterton, IN 46304
Duneland School Corporation
Jeff Van Drie, Principal
jeff.vandrie@duneland.k12.in.us
Shane Smith, teacher representative
shane.smith@duneland.k12.in.us

Hebron High School
509 S. Main, Hebron, IN 46341
M S D Boone Township
Mark Lutze, Principal
lutzem@hebronschools.k12.in.us
Teacher Representative – TBA

Kouts High School
302 E. College Street, Box 699; Kouts, IN 46347
East Porter County School Corporation
Tom Stoner, Principal
tom.stoner@eastporter.k12.in.us
Pam Thurner, teacher representative
pam.thurner@eastporter.k12.in.us

Merrillville High School
276 East 68th Place, Merrillville, IN 46410
Merrillville Community Schools
Marnita Taylor, Assistant Principal
mtaylor@mvsc.k12.in.us
Kari Regan, teacher representative
kregan@mvsc.k12.in.us

Portage High School
6450 US Hwy 6, Portage, IN 46368
Portage Township Schools
Max Gill, Principal
max.gill@portage.k12.in.us
Lynn Alkire, Assistant Principal
lalkire@portage.k12.in.us
Thomas Baulos, teacher representative
thomas.baulos@portage.k12.in.us
Carrie Brown, teacher representative
carrie.brown@portage.k12.in.us

Valparaiso High School
2727 N. Campbell St., Valparaiso, IN 46385
Valparaiso Community Schools
Reid Amones, Principal
ramones@valpo.k12.in.us
Patti Brady, teacher representative
pbrady@valpo.k12.in.us

Washington Twp. High School/ Middle School
381 E. State Road 2, Valparaiso, IN 46383
East Porter County School Corporation
Sue Lipinski, Principal
Sue.lipinski@eastporter.K12.in.us

Print Friendly