Connecting regional educators since 2001.

PEP Mission Statement

The Professional Educators Partnership (PEP) seeks to establish mutually beneficial relationships between Valparaiso University and regional educators. The partnership has evolved into many new professional connections between administrators, professors, principals, teachers, and teacher candidates. Area schools benefit from access to Valpo’s resources, including targeted conferences and workshops. PEP also helps Valpo prepare its teacher candidates even more effectively.

In 2001, the education department established PEP with 25 schools. Today, dozens of elementary, middle, and high schools from across the region participate.

Participating Schools

PEP Chair, Elementary Level: Terri Crussen

Heavilin Elementary
2450 Heavilin Road, Valparaiso, IN 46383
Valparaiso Community Schools
Dr. Bonnie Stephens, Principal
bstephens@valpo.k12.in.us
Sharon McCorkle, teacher representative
smccorkle@valpo.k12.in.us

Iddings Elementary School
Merrillville, IN 46283
Terri Crusen, Principal

Immanuel Lutheran School
1700 N. Monticello, Valparaiso, IN 46283
Josh Bachman, Principal
jbachman@immanuelvalpo.org
Samantha Jones, elementary teacher representative
sjones@immanuelvalpo.org
Tim Becker, middle school teacher representative
tbecker@immanuelvalpo.org

Jackson Elementary
811 N. 400 E., Valparaiso, IN 46383
Duneland School Corporation
Linda Rugg, Principal
linda.rugg@duneland.k12.in.us
Brian Norris, teacher representative
brian.norris@duneland.k12.in.us

Kouts Elementary
302 E. College Street, Kouts, IN 46347
East Porter County School Corporation
Patti Eich, Principal
patti.eich@eastporter.k12..in.us
Lia Roccia, teacher representative
lia.roccia@eastporter.k12.in.us

Morgan Twp Elementary
299 S. SR 49, Valparaiso, IN 46383
East Porter County Schools
Jessica Niebel, Principal
jessica.niebel@eastporter.k12.in.us
Mary Riffer, teacher representative
mary.riffer@eastporter.k12.in.us
Susan Rassel, teacher representative
Linda Phillips, teacher representative

Myers Elementary School
3100 Willowdale Portage, IN 46368
Portage Twp Schools
Jeff King, Principal
jeffrey.king@portage.k12.in.us
Cindy Hargarten, teacher representative
lucinda.hargarten@portage.k12.in.us

Northview Elementary
257 Northview, Valparaiso, IN 46383
Valparaiso Community Schools
Loren Hershberger, Principal
lhershberger@valpo.k12.in.us
Kelley Jones, teacher representative
kjones@valpo.k12.in.us

Parkview Elementary School
1405 Wood Street, Valparaiso, IN 46383
Valparaiso Community Schools
Anne Wodetzki, Principal
awodetzki@valpo.k12.in.us
Laura Lang, teacher representative
llang@valpo.k12.in.us

South Haven Elementary
4395 Midway Dr., Valparaiso, IN 46385
Portage Twp Schools
Phillip Misecko, Principal
Phillip.misecko@portage.k12.in.us
Samantha Fisher, teacher representative
samantha.fisher@portage.k12.in.us

St. Paul School (K–8)
Harrison Blvd, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Archdiocese of Gary
Jane Scupham, Principal
jscupham@stpaulvalpo.org
Alene Sullivan, teacher representative
asullivan@stpaulvalpo.org

John Wood Elementary
6100 E. 73rd Avenue, Merrillville, IN 46410
Merrillville Community Schools
Allison Petralia, Principal
apetralia@mvsc.k12.in.us
Morgan Vlassopoulos
mvlassopou@mvsc.k12.in.us

PEP Chair, Middle Level: Jerry Lasky

Ben Franklin Middle School
605 N. Campbell, Valparaiso, IN 46385
Valparaiso Community Schools
Jeanie Sienkowski, Principal
jsienkowski@valpo.k12.in.us
Melissa Fisher, teacher representative
mfisher@valpo.k12.in.us

Hebron Midddle School
MSD Boone Twp Schools
307 S. Main, Hebron, IN 46341
Jeff Brooks, Principal
brooksj@hebronschools.k12.in.us
Kristy Stephens, teacher representative
stephensk@hebronsschools.k12.in.us

Kankakee Valley Middle School
3923 West St. Rd. 10, Wheatfield, IN 46392
Kankakee Valley Schools
Adam Metzger, Principal
ametzger@kv.k12.in.us
Christina Gulbrandson, teacher representative
cgulbrandson@kv.k12.in.us

Morgan Twp Middle School
299 State Rd 49, Valparaiso, IN 46347
East Porter County School Corporation
Christopher George, Principal
chris.george@eastporter.k12.in.us
TBA, teacher representative

Pierce Middle School
199 E. 70th Place, Merrillville, IN 46410
Merrillville Community School
Christine Kibler-Wheeler, Principal
cwheeler@mvsc.k12.in.us
Sharon Igras, Assistant Principal
sigras@mvsc.k12.in.us
TBA, teacher representative

Taft Middle School
1000 S. Main Street, Crown Point, IN 46307
Crown Point Community School Corp
Michael Hazen, Principal
mchazen@cps.k12.in.us
Andrea Vode, teacher representative

avode@cps.k12.in.us

Thomas Jefferson Middle School
1600 Roosevelt Rd., Valparaiso, IN 46383
Valparaiso Community Schools
Elizabeth Krutz, Principal
ekrutz@valpo.k12.in.us
Denise Koebcke, teacher representative
dkoebcke@valpo.k12.in.us

Union Twp Middle School
599 W. 300 N., Valparaiso, IN 46385
Union Twp School Corporation
Jerry Lasky, Principal
jlasky@union.k12.in.us

Ruth Lavey, teacher representative                                                                                                             rlavey@union.k12.in.us

Washington Twp. Middle School
381 E. State Rd 2, Valparaiso, IN 46383
East Porter County School Corporation
Sue lipinski, Principal
sue.lipinski@eastporter.k12.in.us
Randy Feola, teacher representative
randy.feola@eastporter.k12.in.us

Willowcreek Middle School
5962 Central Ave., Portage, IN 46368
Portage Township Schools
Doug Johnson, Principal
djohnson@portage.k12.in.us
Natalie Frank, teacher representative
dfrank@portage.k12.in.us

PEP Chair, Secondary Level: Prof Jeff Yelton

Andrean High School
5959 Broadway, Merrillville, IN 46410
Diocese of Gary
Heather Lytton, Principal
hlytton@andreanhs.com
Phyllis Murzyn, teacher representative
pmurzyn@andreanhs.com

Boone Grove High School
260 S. 500 W., Valparaiso, IN 46383
Porter Township School Corporation
Clay Corman, Principal
clay.corman@ptsc.k12.in.us
Ed Ivanyo, Asst Principal
ed.ivanyo@ptsc.k12.in.us

Chesterton High School
2125 S. 11th Street, Chesterton, IN 46304
Duneland School Corporation
Jeff Van Drie, Principal
jeff.vandrie@duneland.k12.in.us
Shane Smith, teacher representative
shane.smith@duneland.k12.in.us

Morgan Twp. High School
299 E State Rd 49, Valparaiso, IN 46383
East Porter County School Corporation
Chris George, Principal
chris.george@eastporter.k12.in.us
TBA, teacher representative
TBA  @eastporter.k12.in.us

Merrillville High School
276 East 68th Place, Merrillville, IN 46410
Merrillville Community Schools
Mike Krutz, Principal
mkrutz@mvsc.k12.in.us
Candace Lillie, teacher representative
clillie@mvsc.k12.in.us

Portage High School
6450 US Hwy 6, Portage, IN 46368
Portage Township Schools
Max Gill, Principal
max.gill@portage.k12.in.us
Lynn Alkire, Assistant Principal
lalkire@portage.k12.in.us

Valparaiso High School
2727 N. Campbell St., Valparaiso, IN 46385
Valparaiso Community Schools
Dr. Veronica Tobon, Principal
vtobon@valpo.k12.in.us
Lindsay Hillesland, teacher representative
lhillesland@valpo.k12.in.us

Washington Twp. High School/ Middle School
381 E. State Road 2, Valparaiso, IN 46383
East Porter County School Corporation
Sue Lipinski, Principal
Sue.lipinski@eastporter.K12.in.us

Print Friendly, PDF & Email