These scholarships and prizes offer rewards to excellent students of English literature and promising writers at Valparaiso University.

The Department of English has awarded senior English major Nicole Thompson of Camarillo, California with the Paul F. Phipps Merit Scholarship for the 2016-2017 Academic Year.  The Department has awarded Vera Sieb Scholarships for 2016-2017 to VU senior English majors Scot Sawa of Crown Point, Indiana and Victoria Bruick of Bakersfield, California. Professor Henry W. and Laura M. Prahl Scholarships have been awarded to senior Creative Writing Majors Rachel Borgo of  Munster, Indiana  and Maria Bruno of  Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, and senior English majors Natalia Terzic of  Highland, Indiana  and Rebecca Greaney of  Lowell, Indiana.

For further information, contact John Ruff at 464-5284

The Sieb Scholarship

Established 1966
Each spring the department announces the recipient(s) of the Vera L. Sieb Scholarship, established by Floyd W. Sieb in honor of his sister, who taught English for many years at Valparaiso High School. The scholarship is normally awarded for the senior year but may be awarded to an outstanding student or students for the junior year. The amount of the awards will vary depending on endowment performance, but generally ranges upward from $1,000. Awards are made solely in recognition of the merit of an English major’s work.

The Paul F. Phipps Merit in English Scholarship

Established 1994
An appropriate memorial to the work of Professor Paul F. Phipps, a distinguished member of the English department for almost 40 years, this scholarship encourages excellent students of literature and language. The scholarship, created by Professor Phipps’ widow, Arline Phipps, and the English department, is based solely on academic performance and merit. It is awarded each year to a sophomore or upperclass English major.

The Margot Ann Uehling Prize for Writing

Established 1992
This scholarship honors the memory of Margot Ann Uehling, a gifted writer and teacher of literature. It awards the undergraduate student who writes the best essay during the academic year. Any undergraduate may submit up to one essay, either personal or scholarly, of 1,000 words or more. There are no restrictions on subject or format. The winner will be chosen by members of the English department and notified mid-summer.

The Wordfest Writing Contest

Six prizes are awarded to Valpo students in this annual contest, which is associated with Wordfest, the Valpo English department’s celebration of books and authors:

    • The Wordfest Poetry Award
    • The Wordfest Short Fiction Award
    • The Wordfest Creative Nonfiction Award
    • The Academy of American Poets Award
    • The Anna Zink Springsteen Poetry Prize

Cash prizes will be awarded in all categories. Judges for contests are noted authors or editors outside of Valparaiso University. The judges will choose first-, second-, and third-place winners, as well as works recognized for honorable mention in each genre.

All Valparaiso University undergraduate students are encouraged to compete. Students may submit to more than one category. Submissions are limited to one entry in each of the following: short fiction, critical essay, and creative nonfiction. A maximum of three poems may be submitted.

Submit *two* copies of your work (short story, critical essay, creative nonfiction, or poems) without your name on the manuscript pages. Also, include a cover sheet containing your name, postal address, email address, phone number, genre, and title of the work(s) submitted. All poems will be considered for the multiple categories applicable.

Bring your submissions to the faculty mailbox area on the second floor of the Arts & Sciences Building and place them in the box marked Wordfest Submissions. Guidelines must be followed, and no e-mail submissions are permitted. Finalists will be notified, and results will be announced at an awards ceremony on May 3. The contests are sponsored by Wordfest of the English department and the Cultural Arts Committee.

Deadline is 5 p.m., March 31, 2017.

If you have any questions, contact Professor Allison Schuette or Professor Edward Byrne in the English department.

The Anna Zink Springsteen Prize

This prize is awarded to a senior, preferably an English major, who has made a substantial contribution to campus life with special gifts in poetry composition.

Print Friendly