We continue to pray that even in the midst of struggle, sickness, and uncertainty, the hope we share in Christ Jesus connects us one to another.  In lieu of the annual spring conference and due to Covid-19, the Advisory Council of the Institute is scheduling a series of virtual seminars in February, March and April with an optional worship service following each event will occur in 2021.

 

The Second Seminar will take place Saturday, March 13, 2021, 11:00 AM Eastern Time (ET), 10:00 AM Central Time

Poetry, Liturgy, and the Writer’s Craft

 

This virtual seminar will draw on poets and the expertise of Christian Wiman to think more carefully and critically about how language and liturgy intersect. For example: How does an understanding of poetry shape liturgy, such as the crafting of litanies and other responsive texts? What place does poetry have in preaching? Who are some recommended poets to read for inspiration? What poetic devices should be encouraged (or perhaps discouraged) for writers of liturgy and sermons? In addition, participants will be encouraged to submit their own questions.


Christian Wiman,
Clement-Muehl Professor of Communication Arts, Yale University
________________________________

Christian Wiman is the author, editor, or translator of twelve books including, most recently, He Held Radical Light: The Art of Faith, the Faith of Art. Mr. Wiman has taught at Stanford, Northwestern, Lynchburg College (Virginia), and the University of Economics (Prague). From 2003–2013 he was editor of Poetry magazine, the premiere magazine for poetry in the English-speaking world. During that time the magazine’s circulation tripled, and it garnered three National Magazine Awards from the American Society of Magazine Editors. Mr. Wiman has written for The New Yorker, The New York Times Book Review, The Atlantic, and numerous other publications. He is a former Guggenheim Fellow and holds an honorary doctorate of humane letters from North Central College. His particular interests include modern poetry, Russian literature, the language of faith, “accidental” theology (that is, theology conducted by unexpected means), and what it means to be a Christian intellectual in a secular culture.

_______________________________

The third and final Seminar will take place Tuesday, April 13, 2021, 1:00 PM Eastern Time (ET), 12:00 Noon Central Time with guest speaker Gail Ramshaw.

______________________________

Link for the optional Worship Service to premiere on the Institute’s YouTube Page at 9:30 PM Eastern Time / 8:30 PM Central Time:

Evening Prayer, Thursday, February 19, 2021
Rev. Liv Larson Andrews, leader
Kalani Padilla, musician

_______________________________

Please use this link to register, each seminar is $25.00:  https://itvalpo.wufoo.com/forms/institute-of-liturgical-studies/