Alumni News


Jeffrey F. Gunning ’88 has been appointed the Republican Attorney to the Lake County (Indiana) Board of Elections and Voter Registration.

Indiana Super Lawyers recently announced its annual Super Lawyers list. Among the elite group of Indiana lawyers is Jon Abernathy ’83 of Goodin Abernathy LLP. The selection process included peer nominations, research of candidates and a blue ribbon panel review.

Porter County Attorney Gwen Rinkenberger ’84 has been selected to succeed Juvenile Court Magistrate Edward Nemeth, who is retiring. Porter County Circuit Court Judge Mary Harper ’75 announced Gwen’s appointment, effective March 15, 2012.


Curtis Jones ’04 has been elected partner in the law firm of Bose McKinney & Evans LLP. Curtis is a member of the Litigation Group, representing clients in a wide variety of complex business and commercial litigation and appeals.

Legal Shield (formerly Pre-Paid Legal) named Shawn Bartley ’00 the 2011 Corporate Referral Network Attorney of the Year. Shawn was also recently named Chair for the Montgomery County Maryland Collaboration Council for Children Youth and Families

The Hoosier Environmental Council (HEC) has appointed Kim Ferraro ’07 as Water and Agricultural Policy Director. Ferraro’s honors include “Up and Coming Lawyer” by Indiana Lawyer (2009), “Legal Advocate of the Year” by HEC (2008), and the Dean W. Kohlhoff Memorial Award for Excellence in Environmental Law at the Law School (2007).

Shannon Reed ’00, a partner at Baker & Daniels LLP, was elected president of the Allen County Bar Association (ACBA) for a term beginning Oct. 1, 2011, and ending Sept. 30, 2012. Shannon has been a member of the bar association’s board of directors since 2007 and has previously held the positions of president-elect and vice president. She also served as chair of the association’s Women Lawyers Section from 2005 to 2009.

The Career Planning Center participated in the Chicago Area Law School Consortium (CALSC) annual Practice Tracks table-talk event at the Chicago Bar Association on Thursday, February 16, 2012.  Valparaiso Alumni who participated in this event were:

Trent McCain ’02 – McCain & White, P.C.

Mary M. Squyres ’82 – Brinks Hofer Gilson & Lione

O. Anthony Olivadoti  ’93 – Chapter 13 Trustee.  Marilyn O. Marshall

Paul A. Leonard, Jr. ’82 – Burke Costanza & Carberry LLP

Jacquelyn T. Vengal ’04 – Burke Costanza & Carberry LLP

Over 200 law school students were in attendance.


Have a story to share with fellow alumni? Contact Valparaiso University Law School to update your contact information and share your news: