#### Resident Members

Debra C. Ames James Caristi Joe Creech Sarah Glenn DeMaris Melissa Desjarlais Randa J. Duvick Bonnie Dahlke Goebbert Samuel Graber Carter F. Hanson Lisa M. Jennings **David Johnson** Lucas Kelley Thomas A. (Tal) Howard Jane Kenney-Hunt Tiffany Kolba Rosalie Berger Levinson JoEllen Lind Timothy B. Malchow Stacy E. Maugans Mel Piehl Lara Pudwell Marian I. Rubchak Mark R. Schwehn Colleen M. Seguin Julien Smith **Anna Stewart** Patrick J. Sullivan **Robert Swanson** Albert R. Trost, Jr. J. Michael Yohe Stanislaus A. Zygmunt

Phi Beta Kappa, founded in 1776 at the University of William and Mary in Virginia, is America's most prestigious academic honor society. It recognizes excellence in the liberal arts and sciences and champions freedom of thought. Each year Valparaiso University inducts seniors and some juniors who have shown academic excellence in the breadth and depth of their studies in the liberal arts and sciences, as well as, on occasion, select alumni who have demonstrated values consonant with liberal education in their work and lives. Valparaiso University has sheltered a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa since 2004.

# The Phi Beta Kappa Society

# Eta of Indiana Chapter at Valparaiso University



Initiation Ceremony
Friday, May 12, 2023 at 3:00 pm
Duesenberg Recital Hall
Valparaiso University Center for the Arts

# 2023 Initiates

#### Members in Course

Elias Anderson (Music and Mechanical Engineering)

James Baur (Accounting and Chinese and Japanese Studies)

Sophia Behrens (French and International Relations)

Travis Biancardi (Computer Science and German)

Lily Carmel (Political Science and Global Studies: Global Service)

Allison Cyr (International Relations and Independent Course of Study:

"Politics, Law, and Social Issues in the United States")

Micah D'Arcangelo (Mechanical Engineering and Spanish)

Rachel Dewitt (Communications and Statistics)

Ryan Dziatkowiec (Spanish and Secondary Education)

Katelyn Eisenhutt (Music and German)

Kristen Flaws (Psychology)

Grace Fleszewski (Environmental Science and Geography)

Keelie Gilbert (International Business)

Abigail Morrow (Actuarial Science)

Burke Niego (Biochemistry)

Tytus Ragle (Biology)

# Program

#### The Ritual of Initiation

#### by Officers

Joe Creech President Lara Pudwell, Vice President Samuel Graber, Treasurer Stacy Maugans, Historian Patrick Sullivan, Secretary

#### Members in Course

#### Address

Mel Piehl, Ph.D. (VU '68

### Welcome

David Hirschey, representing the Phi Beta Kappa Association of the Chicago Area (PBKACA)

The Eta of Indiana Chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa Society is grateful for the generous financial support of the College of Arts and Sciences and Christ College at Valparaiso University as well as friends and members of the Chapter.