Residential life banner image

Meet The Team

Our Mission

Residentiality is a key component of the mission of Valparaiso University. The residence halls are central to this effort by providing living and learning experiences that contribute to the growth and development of students while enhancing their overall education at Valpo. Residential Life provides various programs, services, and leadership opportunities, which promote the student learning mission.

Departmental Goals

The goals of Residential Life are outlined through outcome statements, reflecting what is hoped students will learn through their experience of living in the residence halls. The learning outcomes provide a foundation for staff training, student group advising, hall programming, and other departmental initiatives. The outcomes are grouped into three areas.

I. SCHOLARSHIP

Goal: To assist students to grow intellectually, to draw connections between learning in the classroom and in the residence hall, to support students’ academic work, and to promote student/faculty interaction.

II. LEADERSHIP/PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT

Goal: To assist students to develop their individual potential, to learn self-management and leadership skills, to develop holistic, healthy lifestyles, and to help guide their faith and spiritual development.

III. CITIZENSHIP AND SERVICE

Goal: To assist students to understand the rights and responsibilities of citizenship and their interconnectedness with a larger and diverse society.

Programs and community development opportunities are designed with these three goals in mind. The Residential Life staff, under the direction of the Residential Learning Coordinator, then develop objectives for reaching these goals that focus on the three unique populations that make up our residential communities: The First-Year Experience, The Second-Year Experience, and The Final Years.


Central Office Staff

The Residential Life office is located on the second floor in the Harre Union, Suite 230. Our Central Office staff offer a wide range of experience and diverse skill set and are committed to the continued success of each student living on campus.

Katie-Bye

Katie Bye Director for Residential Life katie.bye@valpo.edu 219.464.5413

Karen-Nelli

Karen Nelli Assistant Director for Residential Life karen.nelli@valpo.edu 219.464.5413


Residential Learning Coordinators

The Residential Learning Coordinator (RLC) is a professional member of the Student Affairs staff who actively promotes student learning in the residence halls while enhancing the quality of life for students living on-campus. Reporting to the Assistant Dean for Residential Life, the RLC serves under the general auspices of the Dean of Students’ office. Each RLC supervises a student staff of Resident Assistants and oversees the daily functions of a residence hall, or group of halls.

Sean Brown Residential Learning Coordinator sean.brown1@valpo.edu 219.464.6780 Wehrenberg Hall & Alumni Hall

Sage-Messenger

Sage Messenger Residential Learning Coordinator sage.messenger@valpo.edu 219.464.6002 Lankenau Hall

Sarah-Rasing

Sarah Rasing Residential Learning Coordinator sarah.rasing@valpo.edu 219.464.6007 Brandt Hall

Tiara-Moore

Tiara Moore Residential Learning Coordinator tiara.moore@valpo.edu 219.464.5763 Guild/Memorial Hall & Kade Duesenberg
German House

Luke Whiteman

Luke Whiteman Residential Learning Coordinator luke.whiteman@valpo.edu 219.464.5977 Beacon Hall & Promenade Apartments