O My Soul


During its May 2010 tour of Germany, the Valparaiso University Chorale renewed its longstanding relationships with the St. Thomas Church in Leipzig, the Leipzig Baroque Orchestra, and our international study centers, including our newest partner--the Hochschule für Kirchenmusik in Rottenberg am Neckar. The journey led the choir from concerts and services in the historic cathedral spaces in Leipzig to a church dedication in the remote countryside of the former East Germany. These recordings capture the musical energy of the live performances and the spirit of friendship and gratitude shared through song.

Valparaiso University Chorale

Christopher M. Cock, conductor

1. The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba (3:08) Georg Friederich Händel (1685-1759)


2. Let thy Hand be Strengthened (8:45) Georg Friederich Händel (1685-1759)


3. Reincarnations (8:50)   Samuel Barber (1910-1981)

 Mary Hines

 Anthony O’Daly

 The Coolin


4. Praise to the Lord (2:59)    arr. F. Melius Christiansen (1871-1955)


5. Shenandoah  (4:06)    arr. James Erb ( b. 1926)


6. Lullabye (4:08)    Billy Joel, arr. Ludwig Böhme


7. Give Me Jesus (3:38)    arr. L. L. Fleming (1936-2003)


8. Hallelujah  (2:16)    arr. Robert DeCormier (b. 1922)

 Jacob Tewes, bass


9. Missa Brevis (18:53)   Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

 Abigail Lange, soprano

(total time 57:07)


Copyright 2010 Valparaiso University


Add to Cart:

  • Model: VMCD1024
  • 974 Units in Stock

This product was added to our catalog on Monday 15 November, 2010.

Copyright © 2017 Valpo ArtsMedia. Powered by Zen Cart