

Sine Die General Assembly 05/02/2022

- 1. FORMAL CALL TO ORDER: 9:52 pm
- 2. ROLL CALL: Unexcused absence: Olivia Maass
- 3. PUBLIC COMMENT: None
- 4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA:
 - a. Motion to approve: Senator Sedlar
 - b. Second: Senator Walton
- 5. OATHS OF OFFICE: Presided by VP Chenoweth
 - a. Dianne Dollispn Second-Year Senator
 - b. Shiya Kamra Second-Year Senator
 - c. Lucas Lennen Second-Year Senator
 - d. Aidan Walton Second-Year Senator
 - e. Mikayla Flanagan Third-Year Senator
 - f. Caleb Mandile Third-Year Senator
 - g. Gabby Wlcoxson Third-Year Senator
 - h. Alex Nieman Fourth-Year Senator
 - i. Riley Sedlar Fourth-Year Senator
 - j. Nour Alhajjeh At-Large Senator
 - k. Riley Cavinder At-Large Senator
 - I. Katelynne Hillebrand At-Large Senator
 - m. Mesach Melton At-Large Senator
 - n. Ashley Velasquez At-Large Senator
 - o. Mackenzie Ward At-Large Senator
 - p. Ashlynn Shear At-Large Commuter Senator
 - q. Gwen Donnella At-Large Commuter Senator
 - r. Leeann Wright At-Large Commuter Senator

6. OFFICER REPORTS:

- a. PRESIDENT: Sophia Behrens
 - Honored to serve this next year. Joy to be in the senate. Proud of new SRs and constitution and bylaws that were passed this year. Thanks to Jolie and Ben. Thanks to all of the senators who have been serving.
- b. VICE PRESIDENT: Ian Chenoweth
 - i. Thank you all for bearing with me during our first meeting. Thanks to outgoing seniors. Proud of all you've accomplished. Thanks to Ben as a role model. Thanks to new senators. Looking forward to this next year.
- c. SECRETARY: Hannah Williamson
 - i. No report
- d. PRESS SECRETARY: Nathan Harmon
 - i. Excited to work with all of you. Will get in contact with all of you about processes.
- e. EXECUTIVE TREASURER: Allison Plachta
 - i. No report

7. ELECTION OF COMMITTEE CHAIRS:

- a. OPERATIONS CHAIR:
 - i. Nomination: Senator Walton (by Sen. Cavinder), accepted
 - ii. Senator Flanagan (by Sen. Wilcoxson), accepted
 - iii. Ballot vote
 - 1. Motion by Sen. Lennen
 - 2. 2nd Sen. Sedlar
 - 3. Passed (18,0,0)
 - iv. Sen. Walton: Enjoyed working on Finance Committee this year, going into next year I want to grow into further service as Operations Chair.
 - v. Sen. Flanagan: current chair of Admin Committee and 2 years on senate, have a lot of experience. Participated in drafting new bylaws.
 - vi. Flanagan, 16; Walton, 2
 - vii. Vote on Senator Flanagan to be Operations Chair
 - 1. Motion to Vote: Lennen
 - 2. Second, Velasquez
 - 3. Passed (17,0, 1)
 - viii. Motion to confirm, Senator Wilcoxson
 - ix. Second Senator Kamra
 - x. Confirmed (18,0,0)

b. STUDENT EXPERIENCE CHAIR:

- i. Nomination: Senator Dollison (by Senator Dollison)
- ii. Motion to vote: Senator Sedlar
- iii. Second: Senator Lennan
- iv. Confirmed (18,0,0)

c. DIVERSITY, EQUITY & INCLUSION CHAIR:

- d. Nominated: Senator Melton (by Senator Wilcoxson), declined by Senator Melton
- e. Nominated: Senator Alhajjeh (by Senator Alhajjeh)
 - i. Motion to vote Senator Hillebrand
 - ii. Second Senator Lennen
 - iii. Passed (18,0,0)

f. ELECTIONS & OUTREACH CHAIR

- i. Nominated: Senator Lennen (by Senator Velasquez)
- ii. Nominated: Senator Velasquez (by Senator Lennen)
- iii. Nominated: Senator Ward (by Senator Cavinder)
- iv. Senator Lennen: Elections are very important and need to run smoothly. I don't have much experience, but I have faith.
- v. Velasquez: Elections are essential and there are changes I would like to implement to make the process smoother and more accessible.
- vi. Ward: I'm new to the senate but have been serving on the screening committee; there are some changes to make in communication and transparency, and I would like to work on that process.
- vii. Motion to ballot vote: Sen. Wright
- viii. Second Sen. Sedlar
- ix. Passed (18,0,0)
- x. Senator Ward (9), Senator Velasquez (8), Senator Lennen (1)
- xi. Motion to vote on confirming Senator Ward: Senator Hillebrand
- xii. Second: Senator Sedlar
- xiii. Confirmed (18, 0, 0)

8. PUBLIC COMMENT:

- a. Ben Jacobs: Congratulations!
- b. Sen. Wright: Thank you for allowing graduate students to have a voice.

9. <u>POSTMORTEM</u>:

a. Thank you for bearing with me during this process. Congratulations to new committee chairs!

10. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>:

a. Vote to adjourn: Senator Sedlarb. Second: Senator Lennenc. Adjourned: 10:18 pm