Hero Nature Image

Esprit français

The Esprit français cultural series is a way for all Valpo French students to connect with one another and with native speakers on campus.

Esprit français

Activités 2021-2122

Download the fall schedule

FÊTE D’OUVERTURE

Tuesday, September 7, 5:30 – 7 pm
Language Resource Center (ASB 240)
Open House for French students. There will be food!

FRENCH@VALPO: FUTURE PATHS, NEW DIRECTIONS

Thursday, October 7, 5:30 – 7 pm
Language Resource Center (ASB 240)
Learn about possible new directions for the French program.
Share your input about potential fresh options for the French minor, short-term study abroad, scholarship opportunities and more.

NOVEMBER EVENT TBD

  • Saturday trip to the Art Institute of Chicago?
  • Pétanque tournament?
  • Fête de la musique?
  • ? ? ?
  • Help us decide our November event!


MOLIERE THAN THOU

Tentative Date: October 26 (6:30 pm, Duesenberg Recital Hall, VUCA)
A one-man play drawn from adaptations of the comic 17th century works of Molière. This event will be live streamed, followed by Q&A with actor Tim Mooney.

BUCHE DE NOEL

Monday, December 6, 6 – 7:30 pm
Language Resource Center (ASB 240)
Decorate a traditional French yule log cake.



Archive 2020-2021

Goûter Conversation Hour, hosted by the Cercle français

Dates to be announced in early spring!
Enjoy some French conversation, along with a snack.  All French speakers of all levels are welcome!

Film: L’Atelier

Friday, Jan. 24, 7 pm, Neils Science Center 234
Part of the International Film Festival

Global Kahoot!

Tuesday, Feb. 11, 6:30, Union, Brown and Gold
Team Trivia on World Languages and Cultures

Foire aux fromages

Monday, Feb. 24, 6:30 pm, LRC
Cheese festival — an annual tradition!

Humanities in 5

Wednesday, March 18, 5:30 pm

Valpo@Work

Wednesday, April 8, 5:30 pm
World language alumni share their career path

Fête du théâtre et A haute voix

Thursday, April 9, 5:30 pm
Students perform a play and celebrate the spoken word en français

AUTOMNE 2019

Goûter Conversation Hour, hosted by the Cercle français

Monday, Sept. 2, LRC, 5 pm
Tuesday, Sept. 24, LRC, 5 pm
Monday, Oct. 7, LRC, 5 pm
Monday, Nov.18, LRC, 5 pm
Enjoy some French conversation, along with a snack.  All French speakers of all levels are welcome!

FÊTE D’OUVERTURE

Wednesday, August 28, 5:30 – 7 pm, German House
Open House for French students. There will be food!

FRENCH@VALPO

Tuesday, Sept. 10, 7 – 8 pm, LRC
Learn all about the French minor, and more. Dessert provided. 

WORLD LANGUAGE SPEAKATHON

Friday, Sept. 20, 10:30 am – 3:30 pm, Library, Community Room
Join the équipe française in this new conversation competition!

PICTURE NIGHT: FRANCE

Thursday, Sept. 26, 6 – 7 pm, LRC
Students returning from study abroad select just 3 photos to share their story from their time in France.

MEET OUR EXCHANGE STUDENTS

Monday, Oct. 21, 6 – 7 pm, LRC
Panel discussion with students from France

NATIONAL FRENCH WEEK

November 4 – 8
Stay tuned for a special activity organized by your French classmates

FRENCH BÛCHE DE NOËL

Tuesday, Dec. 2, evening (time TBA), LRC
Bake a traditional French bûche de Noël

Archive: 18-19, 17-18, 16-17