Hammond B3 Organ workshop – September 15

Saturday, September 15, 2018 at 10:00 a.m.
The clinic is on September 15th from 10:00am to 3:00pm and will be led by American musician Theodis Rodgers. Mr. Rodgers has taught at several colleges in Chicago including instruction in Electronic Music Synthesis at Columbia College and Jazz Piano at Harold Washington College and Kennedy King College. He has also conducted keyboard musical clinics and master classes for organizations including Kawai America Corporation.

This clinic is a ticketed event. Tickets are $15 for adults, $10 for seniors and non-Valpo students, and are free for Valpo students, faculty, and staff. Tickets can be purchased online at valpo.edu/arts, or call the Valpo Box Office at (218) 464-5162. 

Department of Music Awards for 2017-18

On May 6, 2018, students and faculty from the Department of Music convened to honor student musical and scholastic achievement in the 2017-18  academic year.
The following is a list of the honorees:

Pi Kappa Lambda inductees (National Music Honorary Society):  Jackson Roush, Crown Point, Ind. (senior music composition and computer science major) and Erica Heggeland, Naperville, Ill. (senior music education major)

Norman Hannewald Brass Chair:  Eric Mueller, Houston, Texas (junior civil engineering major)

Betty Gehring String Awards:  Jayde Plaza, Dallas, Texas (senior music major); Julie Howe, Crown Point, Ind. (junior music major); and Jackson Roush

Reidenbach Church Music Award:  Hannah Koby, Kent, Ohio (senior church music major)

June DeForest Award for Excellence in Violin Performance:  Victoria Pankow, Lisle, Ill. (sophomore music major)

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Scholastic Award:  Paul Flaten, Sioux Falls, S.D.  (senior electrical engineering major)

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Collegiate Honor Award: Jared Coller, Jasper, Ind. (senior music major)

Sigma Alpha Iota Scholastic Award:  Axandra Smalley, Rockford, Ill.  (senior computer engineering major)

Sigma Alpha Iota Collegiate Honor Award: Meghan LaCroix, Fort Wayne, Ind.  (senior music education major)
Sigma Alpha Iota Senior Awards:  Jared Coller and Jayde Plaza