Valparaiso University Law School Students Compete in the Semifinal Rounds at the Monroe E. Price Media Law Moot Court Competition

Members of the Valparaiso University Law School International Moot Court Team competed in the Monroe E. Price Media Law Moot Court Competition and successfully qualified for the semifinal rounds. The competition is sponsored by the Programme for Comparative Media Law and Policy at Oxford University, England, and is named for American law professor Monroe E. Price. It was held March 21-24.

Wendy Mejia, Megan Leffelman, Matt Heiting and Benjamin Waite argued on behalf of Valparaiso University Law School. They were accompanied by student coach Charles Albrecht and Professor Clare Nuechterlein.

In the various rounds of the competition, the team competed against groups from London, Singapore, Australia, Kenya and Ukraine.

Fifty teams from around the world submitted briefs for the write-in competition. Several teams competed in qualifying rounds in both India and Qatar. Thirty-three teams, representing 21 different countries, qualified to argue in the oral rounds in Oxford, England. Valparaiso University Law School was the only law school from North America represented in the top 10. They went on to compete in the semifinal rounds and were named as the runner up in the Best Memorial category.

Please visit the Law School Flickr website: