Jesse Fosheim and Marshall Miller are both recipients of the North-American Interfraternity Council (NIC) Undergraduate Award of Distinction. This is the first time in the award’s history that two recipients are from the same university. Carrie Whittier, assistant dean of students for Greek life, leadership, and volunteer programs, nominated both students for the honor.

Fosheim, a senior from Green Bay, Wis., has served as president of Phi Kappa Psi Fraternity and Valpo’s Interfraternity Council. He has been involved in a number of projects with the engineering department, including undergraduate research in the James S. Markiewicz Solar Energy Research Facility. Miller, a senior from Lenexa, Kan. has been president of Sigma Phi Epsilon Fraternity, serves on his fraternity’s national board, and is involved with club tennis.

Both recipients, along with Carrie Whittier, will attend the NIC Conference on April 6 in Atlanta to receive their awards.

For more information about the NIC or the sorority and fraternity community on Valparaiso University’s campus contact Carrie Whittier at