Graduate Services Banner

Karthik Mateti

Karthik Mateti

Sports Administration

What are you hoping to accomplish and or offer to GSAC?
I am hoping to make all the new grad students and all international students who are new to this culture and who are afraid/shy to get involved in the college events and meets. I will be helping out myself and all of the grad students to make some new connections, which will be useful for them in the future on- and off- campus.

What are three expectations that you have of this council? 
I would say my best three expectations would be –

  • To know all the students, staff and people of Valparaiso and get to know them from all different streams and majors in graduate school.
  • To work as a team and work together to know what is happening in the university so that I can learn stuff which I have never experienced before. 
  • Make all the approaches towards the betterment of the University by producing new creative ideas to make new students involved and love Valparaiso University. 

How do you plan to represent graduate students on GSAC?
I plan to represent students from Sports Administration and even international students as most of the international students are from my country (INDIA), I can communicate with them and know what their thoughts and issues are, which I can bring to the Council and try to resolve them.

What led to your decision to become a graduate student at Valpo?
The major reason for me to decide that Valpo is going to be my next home is due to my major in masters (Sports Administration), which is a very rare program and only few offer such courses. Valpo was the perfect university for me because it offers athletics and an international student body.

What is one interesting fact about yourself? 
I cannot just say one thing about myself, but the first thing that I want to talk about myself is that I am a Professional Motorcycle Racer, multiple-time national and international champion. I am a professional badminton player. Apart from my athletic career, I am more of a team person and usually get along with people quite well.

What is your favorite food? 
My favorite food would be spicy Arabian food (Hyderabadi).