Student-at-Piano

Faculty and Staff

A nurturing environment that fosters excellence.

The music department promotes musical excellence in a highly collaborative environment. Students work closely with their peers and with mentoring faculty — in the classroom, in music colloquia, and in Valpo’s ensembles.

The Valpo faculty integrate reflective learning about music with technical training in musical skills. With more than 30 faculty members, students can take individual studio lessons in instruments from organ to euphonium.


Administration


Stacy-Maugans

Stacy Maugans Department Chair, Associate Professor of Music stacy.maugans@valpo.edu 219.464.5469

Kristin-Flodder

Kristin Flodder Administrative Assistant, Music and Theatre kristin.flodder@valpo.edu 219.464.5454

profile-image

Angie Taylor Administrative Assistant, Center for the Arts angie.taylor@valpo.edu 219.464.5483


Brass


Layne Anspach

Layne Anspach Adjunct Instructor of Music – Horn layne.anspach@valpo.edu 219.464.5454

Kevin Dombrowski

Kevin Dombrowski Adjunct Instructor of Music – Trombone kevin.dombrowski@valpo.edu 219.464.5454

Charles Steck

Charles Steck Adjunct Instructor of Music – Trumpet charles.steck@valpo.edu 219.464.6790

Richard-Watson

Richard Watson Adjunct Instructor of Music – Euphonium and Tuba tubabiker52@yahoo.com 219.464.6790


Chamber Music


Joseph-Bognar

Joseph Bognar Associate Professor of Music joseph.bognar@valpo.edu 219.464.6782

teacher holding musical instrument

Stacy Maugans Department Chair, Associate Professor of Music stacy.maugans@valpo.edu 219.464.5469

Diego Piedra

Diego Piedra Orchestra, Assistant Professor of Music diego.piedra@valpo.edu 219.464.5416

Katharina-Uhde

Katharina Uhde Assistant Professor of Music – Violin, Viola katharina.uhde@valpo.edu 219.464.6889


Church Music


Sunghee-Kim

Sunghee Kim Assistant Professor of Music sunghee.kim@valpo.edu 219.464.6796


Composition


Navid-Bargrizan

Navid Bargrizan Visiting Assistant Professor of Music – Composition


Ensemble Directors


JeffreyScottDoebler

Jeffrey Scott Doebler Professor of Music – Music Education jeff.doebler@valpo.edu 219.464.5087 Bands

Robert Lark

Robert Lark Jazz ensemble and jazz combos, Adjunct Instructor of Music – Jazz robert.lark@valpo.edu 219.464.5454 Bands

Jeremiah Cawley Visiting Assistant Professor of Music jeremiah.cawley@valpo.edu 219.464.5083 Choirs

Sunghee-Kim

Sunghee Kim Kantorei, Assistant Professor of Music sunghee.kim@valpo.edu 219.464.6796 Choirs

Diego Piedra

Diego Piedra Orchestra, Assistant Professor of Music diego.piedra@valpo.edu 219.464.5416 Orchestra


Jazz


Robert Lark

Robert Lark Jazz Ensemble and Jazz Combos, Adjunct Instructor of Music – Jazz robert.lark@valpo.edu

Roger-Harris

Roger Harris Adjunct Instructor of Music – Jazz Piano roger.harris@valpo.edu 219.464.5454


Music Education, Music Industry, Music Therapy


JeffreyScottDoebler

Jeffrey Scott Doebler Bands, Professor of Music – Music Education jeff.doebler@valpo.edu 219.464.5087

James Konsbruck

James Konsbruck Adjunct Instructor of Music – Music Industry jim.konsbruck@valpo.edu 219.464.5454

Jordy Novak Visiting Assistant Professor of Music – Music Therapy jordy.novak@valpo.edu 219.464.5431


Organ


Sunghee-Kim

Sunghee Kim Assistant Professor of Music sunghee.kim@valpo.edu 219.464.6796

Stephen-Schnurr

Stephen Schnurr Adjunct Instructor of Music stephen.schnurr@valpo.edu


Percussion


Jeffrey-Brown

Jeffrey C. Brown Adjunct Instructor of Music – Percussion jeffrey.brown@valpo.edu


Piano


Joseph-Bognar

Joseph Bognar Associate Professor of Music joseph.bognar@valpo.edu 219.464.6782

Nicole Lee-

Nicole Lee Adjunct Instructor of Music nicole.lee@valpo.edu

profile-image

Mary Lee Riley Adjunct Instructor of Music mlsiedentop@yahoo.com 219.464.5164


Strings


Katharina-Uhde

Katharina Uhde Assistant Professor of Music – Violin, Viola katharina.uhde@valpo.edu 219.464.6889

David Machavariani

David Machavariani Adjunct Instructor of Music – Cello datocello@hotmail.com 219.464.5165

Diego Piedra

Diego Piedra Assistant Professor of Music – Violin, Orchestra diego.piedra@valpo.edu 219.464.5416

Serna

Phillip Serna Adjunct Instructor of Music – Bass phillip.serna@valpo.edu 219.464.5274


Voice


Anne Bice

Anne Marie Bice Adjunct Instructor of Music – Voice, Vocal Jazz anne.bice@valpo.edu 219.464.6791

Jeremiah Cawley Visiting Assistant Professor of Music – Voice, Chorale jeremiah.cawley@valpo.edu 219.464.5083

Maura Cock

Maura Janton Cock Adjunct Instructor of Music – Voice maura.cock@valpo.edu 219.464.5432

Bradford Thompson

Bradford Thompson Adjunct Instructor of Music – Voice bradford.thompson@valpo.edu


Woodwinds


Cynthia Fudala

Cynthia Fudala Adjunct Instructor of Music – Flute cynthia.fudala@valpo.edu 219.464.6935

Adam De Sorgo

Adam De Sorgo Adjunct Instructor of Music – Oboe adam.desorgo@valpo.edu 219.464.5454

Denise Chigas Kirkland

Denise Chigas Kirkland Adjunct Instructor of Music – Clarinet denise.kirkland@valpo.edu 219.464.6935

Eric Kuehner Adjunct Instructor of Music – Bassoon eric.kuehner@valpo.edu

teacher holding musical instrument

Stacy Maugans Associate Professor of Music – Saxophone stacy.maugans@valpo.edu 219.464.5469

Bands

Jeffrey Scott Doebler – concert bands
Robert Lark – jazz bands

Brass & Percussion

Layne Anspach – horn
Jeffrey C. Brown – percussion
Kevin Dombrowski – trombone
Charles Steck – trumpet
Richard Watson – tuba/euphonium

Chamber Music

Joseph Bognar
Stacy Maugans
Diego Piedra
Katharina Uhde

Choirs

Jeremiah Cawley
Sunghee Kim

Church Music

Sunghee Kim
Composition

Navid Bargrizan

Core Music Curriculum

Joseph Bognar
Stacy Maugans
Diego Piedra
Katharina Uhde

Jazz

Roger Harris
Robert Lark

Music Education

Jeffrey Scott Doebler

Music Industry

James Konsbruck

Music Therapy

Jordy Novak

Orchestra

Diego Piedra

Organ

Sunghee Kim
Stephen Schnurr

Piano

Joseph Bognar
Nicole Lee
Mary Lee Riley

Strings

Heaven Fan – harp
James Konsbruck – guitar
David Machavariani – cello
Diego Piedra – orchestra
Phillip Serna – bass
Katharina Uhde – violin/viola

Voice

Anne Marie Bice
Jeremiah Cawley
Maura Janton Cock
Bradford Thompson

Woodwinds

Adam De Sorgo – oboe
Denise Chigas Kirkland – clarinet
Eric Kuehner – bassoon
Cynthia Fudala – flute
Stacy Maugans – saxophone

Administrative Staff

Stacy Maugans, Department Chair
Kristin Flodder
Angie Taylor