Student-at-Piano

Faculty and Staff

A nurturing environment that fosters excellence.

The music department promotes musical excellence in a highly collaborative environment. Students work closely with their peers and with mentoring faculty — in the classroom, in music colloquia, and in Valpo’s ensembles.

The Valpo faculty integrate reflective learning about music with technical training in musical skills. With more than 30 faculty members, students can take individual studio lessons in instruments from organ to euphonium.

Stacy-MaugansStacy Maugans, Department Chair
Associate Professor of Music
219.464.5469
stacy.maugans@valpo.edu

 

Kristin Flodder, Administrative Assistant, Music and Theatre
219.464.5454
kristin.flodder@valpo.edu 

 

Angie Taylor, Administrative Assistant, Center for the Arts
219.464.5483
angie.taylor@valpo.edu

Layne Anspach
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Horn
219.464.5454

 

 

Kevin Dombrowski
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Trombone
219.464.5454

 

 

SteckCharles Steck
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Trumpet
219.464.6790
charles.steck@valpo.edu

 

Richard Watson
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Euphonium and Tuba
219.464.6790
tubabiker52@yahoo.com

Joseph-Bognar

Joseph Bognar
Associate Professor of Music
219.464.6782
joseph.bognar@valpo.edu

 

Stacy-MaugansStacy Maugans, Department Chair
Associate Professor of Music
219.464.5469
stacy.maugans@valpo.edu

 

Head-ShotDiego Piedra, Orchestra
Assistant Professor of Music
219.464.5416
diego.piedra@valpo.edu

 

Katharina-Uhde Katharina Uhde
Assistant Professor of Music – Violin, Viola
219.464.6889
katharina.uhde@valpo.edu

Christopher M CockChristopher M. Cock
Professor of Music – Chorale and Church Music
219.464.5082
christopher.cock@valpo.edu

 

Sunghee-KimSunghee Kim
Assistant Professor of Music
219.464.6796
sunghee.kim@valpo.edu

Navid Bargrizan
Visiting Assistant Professor of Music – Composition

 

Joseph-Bognar

Joseph Bognar
Associate Professor of Music
219.464.6782
joseph.bognar@valpo.edu

 

Head-ShotDiego Piedra, Orchestra
Assistant Professor of Music
219.464.5416
diego.piedra@valpo.edu

 

Stacy-MaugansStacy Maugans, Department Chair
Associate Professor of Music
219.464.5469
stacy.maugans@valpo.edu

 

Katharina-Uhde Katharina Uhde
Assistant Professor of Music – Violin, Viola
219.464.6889
katharina.uhde@valpo.edu

Bands

Jeff-DoeblerJeffrey Scott Doebler, bands
Professor of Music – Music Education
219.464.5087
jeff.doebler@valpo.edu

 

Robert Lark, jazz ensemble and jazz combos
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Jazz
219.464.5454
robert.lark@valpo.edu

 

Choirs

Christopher M CockChristopher M. Cock
Professor of Music – Chorale and Church Music
219.464.5082
christopher.cock@valpo.edu

 

Profile-1Sunghee Kim, Kantorei
Assistant Professor of Music
219.464.6796
sunghee.kim@valpo.edu

 

Andrew Robinson, Guest Conductor Chorale
Visiting Adjunct Instructor of Music
219.464.5082
andrew.robinson@valpo.edu

 

Orchestra

Head-ShotDiego Piedra, Orchestra
Assistant Professor of Music
219.464.5416
diego.piedra@valpo.edu

Roger-HarrisRoger Harris
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Jazz Piano
219.464.5454
roger.harris@valpo.edu

 

Robert Lark, jazz ensemble and jazz combos
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Jazz
robert.lark@valpo.edu

Jeff-DoeblerJeffrey Scott Doebler, bands
Professor of Music – Music Education
219.464.5087
jeff.doebler@valpo.edu

 

James Konsbruck
Adjunct Instructor of Music – music industry
219.464.5454
jim.konsbruck@valpo.edu

 

Sangeeta-Swamy-Sangeeta Swamy
Assistant Professor of Music
Director of Music Therapy
219.464.5431
sangeeta.swamy@valpo.edu

Sunghee-KimSunghee Kim
Assistant Professor of Music
219.464.6796
sunghee.kim@valpo.edu

 

Stephen-SchnurrStephen Schnurr
Adjunct Instructor of Music
stephen.schnurr@valpo.edu

Adam Rosenblatt
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Percussion
adam.rosenblatt@valpo.edu

 
 

Jeffrey-Brown Jeffrey C. Brown
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Drum Set
jeffrey.brown@valpo.edu

Joseph-Bognar

Joseph Bognar
Associate Professor of Music
219.464.6782
joseph.bognar@valpo.edu

 

Nicole Lee-Nicole Lee
Adjunct Instructor of Music
nicole.lee@valpo.edu

 

Mary Lee Riley
Adjunct Instructor of Music
219.464.5164
mlsiedentop@yahoo.com

Katharina-Uhde Katharina Uhde
Assistant Professor of Music – Violin, Viola
219.464.6889
katharina.uhde@valpo.edu

 

Sangeeta-Swamy-Sangeeta Swamy
Assistant Professor of Music – Viola
Director of Music Therapy
219.464.5431
sangeeta.swamy@valpo.edu

David Machavariani
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Cello
219.464.5165
datocello@hotmail.com

 

Phillip Serna
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Bass, Viola da Gamba
219.464.6792
phillip.serna@valpo.edu

 

James Konsbruck
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Guitar and Music Industry
219.464.5454
jim.konsbruck@valpo.edu

 

Head-ShotDiego Piedra, Orchestra
Assistant Professor of Music
219.464.5416
diego.piedra@valpo.edu

 

Heaven Fan
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Harp

Anne BiceAnne Marie Bice
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Voice, Vocal Jazz
219.464.6791
anne.bice@valpo.edu

 

Christopher M CockChristopher M. Cock
Professor of Music – Chorale and Church Music
219.464.5082
christopher.cock@valpo.edu

 

Maura CockMaura Janton Cock
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Voice
219.464.5432
maura.cock@valpo.edu

 

David-GovertsenDavid Govertsen
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Voice
219.464.5088
david.govertsen@valpo.edu

 

elyheadshotEmily Yiannias
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Voice
219.464.5165
emily.yiannias@valpo.edu

 

Bradford Thompson
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Voice
bradford.thompson@valpo.edu

 

FudalaCynthia Fudala
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Flute
219.464.6935
cynthia.fudala@valpo.edu

 

Adam De Sorgo
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Oboe
219.464.5454
adam.desorgo@valpo.edu

 

Denise Chigas Kirkland
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Clarinet
219.464.6935
denise.kirkland@valpo.edu

 

Steven Ingle
Adjunct Instructor of Music – Bassoon
219.464.6791
stevenvingle@gmail.com

 

teacher holding musical instrumentStacy Maugans
Associate Professor of Music – Saxophone
219.464.5469
stacy.maugans@valpo.edu

Bands

Jeffrey Scott Doebler – concert bands
Robert Lark – jazz bands

Brass & Percussion

Adam Rosenblatt – percussion
Jeffrey C. Brown – drum set
Charles Steck – trumpet
Richard Watson – tuba/euphonium

Chamber Music

Joseph Bognar
Stacy Maugans
Diego Piedra
Katharina Uhde

Choirs

Christopher M. Cock
Sunghee Kim

Church Music

Christopher M. Cock
Sunghee Kim

Composition

Clay Mettens

Core Music Curriculum

Joseph Bognar
Stacy Maugans
Diego Piedra
Katharina Uhde

Jazz

Roger Harris
Robert Lark

Music Education

Jeffrey Scott Doebler

Music Industry

James Konsbruck

Music Therapy

Sangeeta Swamy

Orchestra

Diego Piedra

Organ

Sunghee Kim
Stephen Schnurr

Piano

Joseph Bognar
Nicole Lee
Mary Lee Riley

Strings

Heaven Fan – harp
James Konsbruck – guitar
David Machavariani – cello
Diego Piedra – orchestra
Phillip Serna – bass
Sangeeta Swamy – viola
Katharina Uhde – violin/viola

Voice

Anne Marie Bice
Christopher M. Cock
Maura Janton Cock
David Govertsen
Emily Yiannias

Woodwinds

Adam De Sorgo – oboe
Denise Chigas Kirkland – clarinet
Cynthia Fudala – flute
Steven Ingle – bassoon
Stacy Maugans – saxophone

Administrative Staff

Stacy Maugans, Department Chair
Kristin Flodder
Angie Taylor