Spring 2018 Concert Season

Please visit often for additional and updated event listings, including student recitals.

Faculty Recital
Claire Happel, harp
Karisa Antonio, oboe
Sun, Jan. 28, 2:00 p.m.
Duesenberg Recital Hall, Center for the Arts
Free Admission, open to the public


Epic Movie Concert
Valparaiso University Chamber Concert Band
Valparaiso High School Bands
Sat, Feb. 10, at 7:30 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
Free Admission, open to the public


Symphony Orchestra
Featuring Winner of the 2017-18 Student Concerto Competition
Sat, Feb. 17th, 7:30 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
*Ticketed Event: $15 adult, $10 senior/non-Valpo students, free to Valpo students, faculty and staff


Faculty Recital
Anne Marie Bice, soprano
with Christina Giuca Krause, piano
Sun, Feb. 18, 2:00 p.m.
Duesenberg Recital Hall, Center for the Arts
Free Admission, open to the public


Small High School Band Festival
Sat, Feb. 24, at 3:00 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
Free Admission, open to the public


Community Band Festival
Sat, Feb 24, at 7:30 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
Free Admission, open to the public


Valparaiso University Chorale
Thurs, Mar. 1, at 7:30 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
*Ticketed Event: $15 adult, $10 senior/non-Valpo students, free to Valpo students, faculty and staff


Guest Artist Recital:  Music of J.S. Bach
Wolfgang Rubsam, organ
Wed, Mar. 21, 7:30 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
Free Admission, open to the public


Student Recital:  Jared Coller, percussion
Saturday, March 24, 5:00 p.m
Duesenberg Recital Hall
Free admission


Civitas, Chamber Ensemble-in-Residence
Sun, Mar. 25, 2:00 p.m.
Duesenberg Recital Hall, Center for the Arts
Free Admission, open to the public


Jazz Fest
Harre Union Ballrooms
Daily: Mon, April 2 – Fri, April 6
For more information, contact the Harre Union 464 5415


Faculty Recital
Nicole Lee and Joseph Bognar, duo piano
Sun, Apr. 8, 2:00 p.m.
Duesenberg Recital Hall, Center for the Arts
Free Admission, open to the public


Institute of Liturgical Studies
David G. Truemper Memorial Concert
Tues, April 10, at 8 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
Free Admission, open to the public


Student Recital: Nathan McChesney, trumpet and Janelle Wigal, horn
with Nicole Lee, piano, and guest Paul Flaten, trombone
Saturday, April 14 at 5:00 p.m.
Duesenberg Recital Hall, Center for the Arts
Free admission, open to the public


Faculty Recital
Ericka Grodrian, horn
with Joseph Bognar, piano, and guest artist Brandi N. Icard, soprano
Sun, April 15, 2:00 p.m.
Duesenberg Recital Hall, Center for the Arts
Free Admission, open to the public


Student Recital: Hannah Koby, organ
Tuesday, April 17 at 7:30 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
Free admission


VUNUMU (New Music Ensemble)
Wednesday, April 18, at 7:30 p.m.
Brauer Museum of Art
Free Admission, open to the public


The Spitfire Grill
Music: James Valcq
Lyrics: Fred Alley
Directed by: Lee F. Orchard
University Theatre
Fri., Apr 20, 8:00 p.m.
Sat, Apr 21, 2:00 p.m.
Sun, Apr 22, 2:00 p.m
Fri., Apr 27, 8:00 p.m.
Sat, Apr 28, 2:00 p.m.
Sun, Apr 29, 2:00 p.m
*Ticketed Event: $15 adult, $10 senior/non-Valpo students, free to Valpo students, faculty and staff


Student Recital: Samuel Macy, voice, and Jeffrey Langevin, voice
with Nicole Lee and Kelly Langevin, piano
Saturday, April 21, at 5:00 p.m.
Duesenberg Recital Hall
Free Admission, open to the public


Student Recital: Alison Norris, flute, and Corinne Witt, voice
with Benjamin Krause and Sunghee Kim, piano
Sunday, April 22, at 5:00 p.m.
Duesenberg Recital Hall
Free Admission, open to the public

STEM Recital
Saturday, April 28, at 5:30 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
Free Admission, open to the public

Women’s Choir, Men’s Ensemble
Sun, April 29, at 6 p.m.
Duesenberg Recital Hall
Free Admission, open to the public


The 20th Annual Sousa Tribute Concert
Valparaiso University Chamber Concert Band, Luce Concert Band, and Community/University Concert Band
Sat, May 5, at 1 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
*Ticketed Event: $15 adult, $10 senior/non-Valpo students, free to Valpo students, faculty and staff


Valparaiso University Symphony Orchestra and the Valparaiso University Chorale
Sun, May 6, 2:00 p.m.
Chapel of the Resurrection
*Ticketed Event: $15 adult, $10 senior/non-Valpo students, free to Valpo students, faculty and staff

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Valpo’s concert schedule gives students diverse listening and performing opportunities.

Hundreds of students across disciplines are actively involved in the vibrant musical life on campus. Both music majors and non-majors take active and leading roles in ensembles, making music on-campus, across the region and around the world.

Throughout the year, a diverse group of visiting performers and scholars come to Valpo to participate in recitals, lectures, workshops, and seminars. These events enrich learning for music students as well as others in the campus and regional communities. Buy Tickets »