MESA represented at NAMM

NAMM Convention NAMM Convention

Jan. 23-27, 2019 – Music Enterprise Student Association (MESA) had the opportunity to escape the cold on their exciting trip to the NAMM convention in Anaheim, CA. Anna Jones, Hannah Forton, and Juliana Johnson received the NAMM President’s Innovation Award. It was certainly a trip full of accomplishments for the group this year!

Jan. 23-27, 2019 – Valparaiso University students Ahnnabella Kolacki, sophomore music industry and marketing major, and Alyssa Serviss, junior music industry major, were invited to intern with GenNext-CMS at the National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) conference in Anaheim, California. NAMM and the College Music Society (CMS) have partnered together to give NAMM Members the opportunity to partake in the GenNext-CMS internship program. It is designed to offer students a unique alternative to the classroom curriculum of their college or university, so that they may participate in the Association aspects of the music products industry. The purpose of this internship is to offer students insight into how the Association works with respect to administration, event planning & management, communications, meetings & events, membership services, professional development and trade shows. Ahnnabella and Alyssa are pictured on the right.

Hammond B3 Organ workshop – September 15

Saturday, September 15, 2018 at 10:00 a.m.
The clinic is on September 15th from 10:00am to 3:00pm and will be led by American musician Theodis Rodgers. Mr. Rodgers has taught at several colleges in Chicago including instruction in Electronic Music Synthesis at Columbia College and Jazz Piano at Harold Washington College and Kennedy King College. He has also conducted keyboard musical clinics and master classes for organizations including Kawai America Corporation.

This clinic is a ticketed event. Tickets are $15 for adults, $10 for seniors and non-Valpo students, and are free for Valpo students, faculty, and staff. Tickets can be purchased online at, or call the Valpo Box Office at (218) 464-5162. 

Department of Music Awards for 2017-18

On May 6, 2018, students and faculty from the Department of Music convened to honor student musical and scholastic achievement in the 2017-18  academic year.
The following is a list of the honorees:

Pi Kappa Lambda inductees (National Music Honorary Society):  Jackson Roush, Crown Point, Ind. (senior music composition and computer science major) and Erica Heggeland, Naperville, Ill. (senior music education major)

Norman Hannewald Brass Chair:  Eric Mueller, Houston, Texas (junior civil engineering major)

Betty Gehring String Awards:  Jayde Plaza, Dallas, Texas (senior music major); Julie Howe, Crown Point, Ind. (junior music major); and Jackson Roush

Reidenbach Church Music Award:  Hannah Koby, Kent, Ohio (senior church music major)

June DeForest Award for Excellence in Violin Performance:  Victoria Pankow, Lisle, Ill. (sophomore music major)

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Scholastic Award:  Paul Flaten, Sioux Falls, S.D.  (senior electrical engineering major)

Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Collegiate Honor Award: Jared Coller, Jasper, Ind. (senior music major)

Sigma Alpha Iota Scholastic Award:  Axandra Smalley, Rockford, Ill.  (senior computer engineering major)

Sigma Alpha Iota Collegiate Honor Award: Meghan LaCroix, Fort Wayne, Ind.  (senior music education major)
Sigma Alpha Iota Senior Awards:  Jared Coller and Jayde Plaza