National Council

The Valparaiso University College of Arts and Sciences National Council is composed of women and men who are exceptional leaders in their fields. They provide the dean with expertise, advice, and useful critique about the college’s programs, mission, and direction. The National Council meets twice yearly, and Arts & Sciences students often have opportunities to meet these important alumni and leaders.


Photo of Marcia Keuning Biang

Marcia R. Keuning ’72 Biang Teacher

Neal Christiansen

Neal Christiansen ’77 Assistant Professor and Fellowship

Peter Hessler

Peter A. Hessler ’75 ’78 J.D. (Chair) Partner, Wegman, Hessler & Vandenburg

Frank J

Frank L. Jaksch ’91 President and Chief Executive Officer


Richard D. Kauzlarich ’66 National Intelligence Officer for Europe

Ronald Koepke

Ronald P. Keopke ’70 Cardiologist

photo: Harold Moellering

Harold J. Moellering ’65 Professor Emeritus of Geography

lois Niemier

Lois Kerner ’78 Niemier Special Needs Consultant


Jeff O’Connor ’99 Chief Operating Officer


Corrinne Fribley ’95 Adolescent and Adult Psychiatrist Private Practice

Zrinsky 2018 Photo

Christine M. Zrinsky ’86 Vice President, Lincoln Park Zoo


Anna Nuechterlein ’02 Rathmann Program Associate

Beth Truett ’67

Beth Truett ’67 President and CEO, Oral Health America

Photo: Sandra Rosenthal

Sandra J. Rosenthal ’87 Director, Vanderbilt Institute of Nanoscale Science and Engineering