Entrance-Torch HERO

Project Teams

Steering Team

A cross-functional Steering Team has been appointed and the roster is below. The team will bring their rich institutional knowledge to advise the process and provide context to the analyses. It will also be the first audience to receive the analyses and generally be the voice of the work with the broader University community. They will contribute to a robust and useful information set that can be used to inform decisions according to Valpo’s existing governance processes. The Steering Team is scheduled to meet monthly beginning in September 2023.

  • Project Lead: Mark Volpatti, Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration and Chief Financial Officer
  • Project Lead: Eric W. Johnson, Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • College of Arts and Sciences: Salena Andersen, Associate Professor of English
  • College of Business: Sanjay Kumar, Assistant Dean and Professor of Information and Decision Science
  • College of Engineering: Anne Raich, Associate Professor of Civil Engineering
  • College of Nursing and Health Professions: Connie Sheets, Assistant Professor of Nursing
  • Christ College: Julien Smith, Associate Professor of Humanities and Theology
  • Library: Ruth Connell, Professor of Library Science
  • Faculty Senate: Bharath Ganesh-Babu, Chair of Faculty Senate and Associate Professor of Geography
  • Institutional Research: Melizza Zygmunt, Executive Director, Institutional Effectiveness
  • Finance: Tamara Gingerich, Associate Vice President and Controller
  • Human Resources: Deondra Devitt, Executive Director, Human Resources
  • Information Technology, Dave Sierkowski, Chief Information Officer
  • Student Affairs: Ryan Blevins, Dean of Students
  • SEAC:  Chloe Kiser, SEAC Chair and Director of Bloom Scholars Program

Oct. 25
Nov. 8
Nov. 29
Dec. 13
Jan. 10
Jan. 24

Data Team

This team consists of faculty and staff members who will collect, clean, and interpret data related to faculty, course, student, and financial information. This group will also discuss the nuances of our University and advise or define how we should utilize and analyze the data. The Data Team will meet bi-weekly beginning mid-September 2023.

  • College of Arts and Sciences: Tiffany Kolba, Professor of Mathematics and Statistics
  • College of Business: Matt Luth, Associate Professor of Management
  • College of Engineering: Peter Krenzke, Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering
  • College of Nursing and Health Professions: Randy Bush, Assistant Professor for the Physician Assistant Program
  • Christ College: Matt Puffer, Associate Professor of Humanities and Ethics
  • Faculty Senate: Joseph A. Bognar, Frederick A. and Mazie N. Reddel Professor of Music
  • Library: Kim Whalen, Associate Professor of Library Science
  • Provost Office: Lissa Yogan, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
  • Institutional Research: Melizza Zygmunt, Executive Director, Institutional Effectiveness
  • Institutional Research: Carolyn Simpson, Data Analyst, Institutional Effectiveness
  • Accounting: Jennifer Zatarski, Associate Controller
  • Finance: Kami Woody, Senior Financial Analyst
  • Human Resources: Michelle Soller, HR Generalist and Information Systems Coordinator
  • Registrar: Allison Urbanczyk
Oct. 12
Oct. 26
Nov. 2
Nov. 9
Nov. 16
Nov. 30
Dec. 7
Dec. 14

Other Stakeholder Groups

Oct. 12 Executive Committee
Nov. 15
Dec. 20

Nov. 8