Committee to Enhance Learning and Teaching

Committee Makeup

The Committee to Enhance Learning and Teaching is a standing committee of the Faculty Senate.  It consists of thirteen (13) members:  nine (9) elected faculty members with voting privileges, and the Assistant Provost for Faculty Affairs (1), the Director of Faculty Development (1), the University Writing Director (1), and the Director of Instructional Design (1) who serve as ex-officio members.


The Committee is responsible for administering the applications for teaching/learning expense grants and travel grants and evaluates nominations and makes recommendations for the Valparaiso University Excellence in Teaching Award.  The Committee also evaluates candidates and makes recommendations to the Provost for the appointment of the Director of Faculty Development.

In addition, the Committee works with the Director of Faculty Development to construct programs which promote and enhance teaching-learning and assist in faculty development, including responsibilities in connection with faculty development grants.