United States Holidays

As a nation, the United States celebrates a number of official holidays. The following holidays are “Federal Holidays” on which many places of business — such as banks and stores — are closed, including university offices.

NOTE: Valparaiso University remains open and classes meet on Labor Day.

  • July 4: Independence Day
  • September 5: Labor Day
  • November 11: Veteran’s Day
  • 4th Thursday in November: Thanksgiving Day
  • December 25: Christmas Day
  • January 1: New Year’s Day
  • January 16: Martin Luther King Jr. Day
  • March/April: Easter (click for more information)
  • Last Monday in May: Memorial Day

Daylight Savings Time

Most places in the United States observe “Daylight Savings Time”. In the spring, all clocks are moved forward one hour, and in the fall they are moved back again. The historical purpose of this practice was to give more daylight time to agriculture workers in the summer. Nowadays, Americans find that they just enjoy more daylight hours for summer recreational activities!

Each year Daylight Saving Time starts on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.

July 4
Independence Day

September 5
Labor Day

November 11
Veterans’ Day

4th Thursday in November
Thanksgiving Day


December 25
Christmas Day


January 1
New Year’s Day

Martin Luther King

January 16
Martin Luther King Jr. Day


Easter (check out for more information)

Last Monday in May
Memorial Day

Send this to a friend